At age 86 she led a successful battle to integrate the restaurants of Washington, D.C. Read reviews from world’s largest community for readers. I earned my degrees in a time period when it wasn't expected, then I spent years in a classroom to educate young people so they could also reach their potential.

Mary Eliza Church (Terrell, after marriage) was born on September 23 rd, 1863 in Memphis, Tennessee – the daughter of Robert Reed Church and Louisa Ayers, both former slaves of mixed race. https://www.thefamouspeople.com/profiles/mary-church-terrell-6568.php Mary Church Terrell (September 23, 1863 – July 24, 1954) was one of the first African-American women to earn a college degree, and became known as a national activist for civil rights and suffrage; in 1909 she was a founding member of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. Due to her father’s mixed heritage, he had opportunities available to him that were not open to black men of a darker complexion. Mary Church Terrell (1863-1954) was a civil rights activist and teacher who was one of the first African-American women to graduate from Oberlin College, earning both a bachelor's and master's degrees.She was also one of the original members of the NAACP. https://lessknownfacts.com/10-facts-about-mary-church-terrell It displays more than 240 items, including books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, plays, films, and recordings.

Mary Church Terrell book. This was one more link in a lifelong chain of fights and firsts for this outspoken African-American woman. It includes the report What the National Association [of Colored Women] Has Meant to Colored Women by Mary Church Terrell. Throughout her long life, Mary Church Terrell never let any obstacle block her path. American Treasures of the Library of Congress.